Solved

Fetching reports about a shop for a two year span

assembledbrands
Tourist
4 0 0

Hey all,

I am a developer integrating with Shopify for the first time.  The application I am building with my company requires multiple years of financial information about a retail company to help with determining if our company should loan them money.  We are hoping to programmatically fetch financial information from Shopify about a retail company given their permission using OAuth.  Ideally we want the same information that the "Sales over time" and "First-time vs returning customers" reports display in the Analytics tab of the myshopify.com UI.  However, through looking at the API documentation and reaching out to general Shopify support, it appears there are not any APIs to fetch pre-made reports.

The support representative told me instead to fetch orders from a Shopify shop and then produce any type of report that we would need, since we have the raw order transaction data.  I was able to get this working using the following three API documentation pages:  

OAuth: https://help.shopify.com/en/api/getting-started/authentication/oauth

Orders: https://help.shopify.com/en/api/reference/orders/order

Request "all orders" access: https://help.shopify.com/en/api/getting-started/authentication/public-authentication#orders-permissi...

My code would direct users who went to our website through the Shopify OAuth flow and then fetch orders in a paginated way with the resulting access token.  We would fetch orders 250 at a time (the max per request) and request the next batch of orders using the "since_id" query parameter.