Having trouble with client side routing using app-bridge-react

brewsterbhg
Visitor
2 0 0
I'm working with an embedded React Shopify app (bootstrapped with create-react-app). I'm trying to follow the docs for the ClientRouter component in app-bridge-react: https://shopify.dev/tools/app-bridge/react-components/client-router but I'm fairly new to the Shopify ecosystem, and I can't seem to get the embedded routing to communicate with the navigation links set up in Shopify.

// index.js

import React from 'react'
import ReactDOM from 'react-dom'
import { BrowserRouter } from 'react-router-dom'
import { Provider as AppBridgeProvider } from '@shopify/app-bridge-react'
import { AppProvider } from '@shopify/polaris'
import translations from '@shopify/polaris/locales/en.json'
import '@shopify/polaris/styles.css'

import Router from './Router'
import app from './app' import './index.css' ReactDOM.render( <React.StrictMode> <BrowserRouter> <AppBridgeProvider config={{ apiKey: API_KEY, shopOrigin: SHOP_ORIGIN, }} > <Router />
<App /> </AppBridgeProvider> </BrowserRouter> </React.StrictMode>, document.getElementById('root') )
// Router.js

import { withRouter } from 'react-router-dom'
import { useClientRouting } from '@shopify/app-bridge-react'

const Router = (props) => {
  const { history } = props
  console.log(history.location) // always "/"

useClientRouting(history)

return null
}

export default withRouter(Router)

As I click the navigation links, the URL changes but the embedded app location always comes through as "/". I'd really appreciate if someone could help point me in the right direction!

Replies 6 (6)

iain-campbell
Shopify Staff (Retired)
54 9 23

Hi brewsterbhg!

What version of react-router-dom are you using? The example you provided is working for me with 5.x.x.

You could also try accessing React Router’s history object with the useHistory hook, although it's the same object (just a different way of getting at it), so that shouldn't change anything.