I'm new - I'm baffled - help with customer facing approach appreciated

Highlighted
Shopify Partner
12 0 6

Hello,

I am new to Shopify (non-plus) and after 2 days of reading the developer documentation I’m still no closer to understanding some of the basics – in fact I have read so much yet understand so little.

I am familiar with OAuth and javascript front end programming.

I'm really excited to get going developing apps - I'm revving the engine but literally no idea which way to go before I spend time travelling there.

What I am trying to achieve

1. A standard shop (I have my own products to sell) - easy part - no problems here.
  2. A ticket booking section (20 places OR 18 places + wheelchair)

I want the visitor to be able to visit a page/product page and select from a calendar with specific dates, choose a date with tickets available, then select quantity, verify the tickets available with a remote service, clear cart + add to cart and immediately proceed to checkout (without the ability for them to modify quantities other than the screen I provide).

The challenge

An event takes 20 people max.  Unless there is a wheelchair visitor – this would take two places.  There can only be one wheelchair at an event (this will change in the future but for the sakes of describing the challenge let’s say 1). 

I have added 20 standing tickets and 1 wheelchair ticket as products (though maybe I could add products on the fly as I provide them dynamically - open to alternative ways).

I have to check if the event already has the maximum number of wheelchair tickets purchased i.e. 1.
I have to check if the total standing tickets have not exceeded 18 (because one wheelchair takes 2 places).
I have to check if a wheelchair ticket cannot be purchased if there are already 19/20 standing tickets purchased.
If 18 tickets are purchased and then one wheelchair ticket, the standing tickets will need to be reduced by 1.  I’ll worry about cancellations later on.