Is it possible to use Polaris React with PHP backend?

PersistentDev
Shopify Partner
7 0 1

Hi all,

I'm quite new to all the modern front-end development, all I'm used to is good old jQuery. For now, I use CDN-hosted Polaris CSS at my app.

But now I want to use Polaris React components, but I've found myself in a huge mess here. I was able to install Node.js on my development machine and play around a bit. I see how to use all that in the Node.js environment, but I'm totally confused about how to make it work with the backend.

For example, the simplest thing ever: let's say, I have several announcements in my DB, which I want to show to my app users as banners on the main page of my app. How I do it now: I query the DB on the PHP backend, then feed the results to the frontend (to the view), where I iterate through them (also with PHP, foreach) and display with simple HTML, like <div class="Polaris-Banner... etc.

But how can I feed this PHP array of messages to React, if all the React code is in JS, and runs on Node.js only? I've tried to make a bundle with Webpack, but it only displays what was predefined in the JS code, and no connection with PHP backend is possible.

I've read all the documentation, both on React and Polaris, and I've totally broken my mind, the solution seems to be non-existent 😞 Please, help.

Replies 7 (7)

SBD_
Shopify Staff
1829 269 405

Hey @PersistentDev,

If you're using React, your PHP backend can act as an API.

Consider running through some React tutorials to solidify the frontend/backend concepts.

Here's a basic AJAX walkthrough: https://reactjs.org/docs/faq-ajax.html

Scott | Developer Advocate @ Shopify 

PersistentDev
Shopify Partner
7 0 1

Hey @SBD_ ,

Thanks for the reply!