Protecting app created tags

dylanpierce
Shopify Partner
138 2 43

Hi there,

A majority of apps rely on tagging orders & customers for keeping the merchant informed during critical parts of fulfillment.

However, both the GraphQL and REST endpoints for adding tags to taggables (orders & customers) will overwrite existing tags left by other apps.

This leads to app devs to accidentally delete other app's tags, and the merchant and other developers have no idea which app is the culprit.

We need a basic permissions model added to the tagging endpoints:

As an app developer, I should only be able to update tags left by my app.

Founder of Verdict - Anti-Fraud Apps for Shopify
  • Blockade - Easily block countries, IP addresses, VPNs
  • Real ID - Verify your customer's real IDs easily & securely
0 Likes
HunkyBill
Shopify Expert
4504 46 491

I would say if you are using tags to keep a merchant abreast of what is happening during critical parts of fulfillment, you are doing it wrong.

Straight up, fulfillment now comes with its own messaging between Shopify and the fulfillment service, allowing pretty fine-grained controls and feedback during the so-called critical parts of fulfillment.

Hate to burst your bubble, but the chances of getting App-specific tags are next to nil. You get App-specific Metafield resources, which allows you to "tag" a product or order with crucial data other apps cannot mess with. But ordinary product tags? I highly doubt it.