Push Shopify Order to ERP System in Real Time

Wolf7967
Tourist
7 0 0

Hi Gurus,

I am basically a NetSuite Developer and is new to Shopify. One of our clients is planning to open a Shopify Store and want to integrate with their NetSuite ERP System. I had looked at the Shopify API Documentation and it seems we can use REST API Services for our Integration. While I got a fair bit of an idea on how we can push data (Products/ Inventory details etc.) from the ERP system to Shopify, I don't have much idea on how we can push data from Shopify to the ERP system in real time. For Eg Whenever a customer places an order in Shopify, a sales order needs to be created in the ERP System in real time. Another one will be to update Inventory Stock levels in real time from Shopify to NetSuite.      

Would any of you guys throw some light on how this can be achieved? Should we create an app in Shopify that pushes the data to the ERP? 

We looked at the option of pulling the data from Shopify (through REST API), but this will be a significant overhead in the ERP system as we may need to create a recurring scheduled job trying to pull the data from Shopify every 15 minutes or so. Also it will not be a real time update. So this will be the last option.

NB: Please note that we are planning to develop this integration on our own and not planning to use any middleware or app. 

Thanks in advance!

0 Likes
Anto_S
Excursionist
26 0 4

Hi @Wolf7967 

You can create a webhook under Settings>Notifications>Webhooks>Create a webhook. However, this will not cover situations where there are timeouts - no retries, so there is a possibility some orders may be missed. 

thanks

Anto

marcusradica
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
41 5 6

Just to clear this up, webhooks do retry. If an app times out when responding to a webhook, the webhook will retry up to 19 times over a 2 day period. More information is under "responding to a webhook" in this link https://shopify.dev/tutorials/manage-webhooks