React/Node tutorial: Multiple stores using the same app

Highlighted
Shopify Partner
20 2 14

Hi all! First off, I am relatively new to Shopify app development and also Node / React. Because of this, I've been following the Node and React app tutorial. My app is almost done, and I've moved my focus to QA and bug fixing.

One thing that I can't seem to figure out is how to use the same app on multiple stores. Whenever I open my app from my second store, I see data from the first store. I think this is because of the way the shopOrigin cookie is set in server.js:

ctx.cookies.set('shopOrigin', shop, { httpOnly: false });

This code only seems to run once the app initially auths. Is there a way to detect when the shopOrigin cookie doesn't match up with the current store? I've been struggling this for a few days now and I can't seem to figure it out.

Another question that is somewhat related, doesn't this cookie expire in 30 days? Do I need to renew it somehow? Will my app still be able to hit the Shopify API once this cookie expires?

Any help would be very much appreciated!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
20 2 14

I was able to solve this problem, finally! Here's how I did it, in case anyone comes across the same problem:

server.keys = [SHOPIFY_API_SECRET_KEY];

router.get('/', async (ctx, next) => {
    if(ctx.request.url && ctx.request.url.match(/shop=([^&]+)/) && ctx.request.url.match(/shop=([^&]+)/)[1] != ctx.session.shop) {
      const referer = ctx.request.url.match(/shop=([^&]+)/)[1];
      ctx.session.shop = referer;
      ctx.session.accessToken = await getAccessTokenForShop(referer);
      ctx.cookies.set('shopOrigin', referer, { httpOnly: false });
      return ctx.redirect('/');
    } else {
      await next();
    }
  });

router.get('/', processPayment);
4 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
11 0 4