Reduce Number of API Calls Required

Highlighted
Shopify Partner
2 0 0

Hi all!

I am new to Rails, coming from an intermediate background in PHP. I am trying to create my first shopify app that uses an asynchronous stream to perform backup and restore functions.

So far, I'm having no problems with the backup as it's only a few calls to download most of the information, but when it comes time to do an upload, I'm stuck with a long processing time made longer due to the bucket size and leak rate.

I was wondering how people get around this and if there is a way to update or create several products in one call?

I am using the ShopifyAPI gem, which uses ActiveResource as a base. I am having trouble figuring out how to get it to call asynchronously, but I think I saw posts already about that.

Any help is appreciated :)

Thanks!

0 Likes
Shopify Partner
73 0 21
Congrats on starting your first app. Can’t wait to see what you’re developing.
Processing multiple calls at one time is one of the more difficult challenges we faced when building Rewind. There’s no way to update multiple items at a time using the REST api. It may be possible using GraphQL.

We’re always looking to hire great developers interested in backups. If you’d like to join us or discuss a possible role at Rewind you can email me at mike at rewind.io.

Mike
Co-Founder, Rewind (Backups for Shopify). Apps: Rewind, Replay (clone and sync Shopify stores).
0 Likes
Shopify Partner
22 1 2

It is not possible to reduce the number of REST API calls than the products that you are creating or updating, as it takes one call to make a post/put request i-e create/update call.