Request for information on Collects REST API usage

Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
2 0 3

Hi all!

I'm a Shopify developer that works on the Collect feature, and I'm looking to gather some information about how partners are currently using the Products Collect API.

I'm looking for information on how apps use the Products Collect REST API (/admin/collects) when working with automated collections. Here are a few questions I have to help start a discussion.

• What are you trying to accomplish?
  • Are you using it to check membership or also for counts?
  • Is there anything more complicated which you are trying to accomplish?
  • If so, what exactly are you trying to do and what functionality are you currently missing?

You can either respond to this thread directly, or share your thoughts anonymously in this form. Thanks for all your input!
-Alex

3 Likes
Shopify Partner
20 0 6

Hi Alex,

We use it in our apps for finding membership of products in a collection (for both manual and automated collections) from the same REST endpoint regardless of collection type. When doing so, we assume the collects are coming back in the order that is seen in the Shopify Admin. We typically follow this up with a fetch for the products themselves and then do various filtering on the data. For example, we want to fetch the product details, but also filter those products to only those which are published to the online storefront and in stock. Presumably this could be done with a single query with GraphQL, but it requires 2+ queries with REST.

2 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
2 0 3

Thanks Marc!

0 Likes
Tourist
5 0 1

Hi, we are using Collects api do determine the products position within collection. This is especially needed for `manual` and `best-selling` sort order, as there is no way we can get this information otherwise. This is needed for displaying products in the same order as in shopify admin.