Return API

shikha_j
Tourist
8 0 5

Hi Guys,

I am new to Shopify and searching for the Return API to get all the customer requested returns for the order items. I could not find any APIs related to Return.

I am confused between Return and Refund. Here are my few questions:

1. Is there any API supported for returns requested from Customer (Get/Create/Update APIs)? If yes, please share the reference document or endpoint.
  2. What is Refund in Shopify? Is it the same as Return?

Please help me with this.

Thanks in advance!!

Shikha

Replies 23 (23)

vix
Shopify Staff
540 103 121

Hi @shikha_j 

When you refund an item, you have the option of doing a restock if this was a return.

1. There is no API endpoint for a customer generated return. You can look into our apps for this process if needed. 

2. Here is the documentation on what a refund is: https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/orders/refund-cancel-order

To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Community Blog.

shikha_j
Tourist
8 0 5

Thanks for the help!!

Not applicable

I see some new returns functionality was recently added. Its nice to be able to mark products as returned and stuff. Is this also available via api?

David_Renwick
Excursionist
19 0 8

Just following up on this to see if I understand this correctly and to see if this has changed since the original post.

So there is no API to;

• Set an order status to "Return in progress" as shown in the Orders page under the 'Open' list. See here; Screenshot 2020-12-03 at 14.35.44.png
  • Therefore no other API to move the order through the return process i.e mark it as Returned?
  • No API either to query the returned status?

Is there anyplace I can go see that information programatically ? Is it stored in meta-data for the order?

BogdanGhervan
Visitor
1 0 3

I am also interested to learn the answer to David's question.

Not applicable

I checked if its stored in order metadata and it is not.

Gordon_Chan
Shopify Expert
27 2 20