Shopify Orders API response fields are inconsistent

lindamx
2 0 0

Hello,

I'm a developer working on ingesting Shopify data via API to build ETL scripts for a data warehousing project of which Shopify is a key data source. I am iterating through all orders via the pagination page token. I've noticed that the Orders API is inconsistent in the fields that is returned in the response. Empty fields are fine but when fields are entirely missing, they break the ETL scripts as I am expecting those fields to be ingested. I've noticed this happening on several fields, some of which may be explained and I've opted to remove them from being ingested but others are entirely unexplainable and should be in the responses at all times.

I've noticed this issue so far with these fields: 

• origin_location within the line_items nested object of an order object - this is mentioned in the documentation, and I see no reason why the field should ever be missing in the response.
  • client_details within an order object - this is mentioned in the documentation, and I see no reason why the field should ever be missing in the response.
  • destination_location within the line_items nested object of an order object - I started ingesting this field since I noticed most of the responses include this field; however, the field is not explicitly mentioned in the documentation, which may explain its inconsistency.
  • payment_details within an order object - this field is mentioned to be deprecated in the documentation but I still see it returned in most responses, albeit inconsistently as it is probably due to being discontinued altogether soon.