We’ve updated our API ToU and Partner Program Agreement

Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
180 6 37

@KarlOffenberger wrote:

@Irene and @Shayne 

Thanks for responding with updated documentation and clarification on many concerns raised here. I am no lawyer so all this legal lingo is a little beyond me, but could you also be more explicit about

You're a partner that works with individual merchants on custom checkout needs using a private app. These changes don't affect your current engagements with these existing merchants.

mentioned in documentation. The bold text implies that the changes do not affect existing private apps but leaves a little uncertainty about new private apps. Am I reading too much in to this? The ToS simply exclude all private apps and make no mention of existing or new engagements.

Thanks for listening and being open!

No worries Karl, better safe than sorry. Private apps, new or old, are not affected.

3 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
1843 170 534

Awesome, thanks once more @Shayne !

I turn coffee in to code - since 1998
1 Like
Shopify Partner
2 0 8

Our competitors in the face of Bold, One Click Checkout and Carthook have all released statements, that their custom checkouts have been authorized to keep working. What are the rules/conditions that we need to comply with to get this authorization? Who can we talk to? Also, what will happen to our current customer base?

Thank you to @Shayne and the Shopify team for the clarifications. It's a Friday, so extra props and thank you's for your quick responses!