Age Consent Pop Up App for Vaping Boutique site

Highlighted
19 0 0

Hi there,

I'm completely new to shopify having worked solidly with WP the last two years +

I am building a Vaping Boutique store and by law I believe I need to have a pop up like the one on this site http://www.myvaporstore.com

My other question is I never use pop ups for SEO purposes do pop ups like this have an impact on the sites homepage seo?

Any help, tips or advice on the pop up or any other advice regarding whether this is essential or whether you can get round it other ways.

I will be running the site from the UK but my primary market will be the US.

Thanks in advance

Tim

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
143 0 18

Hey Tim,

This is John from the Shopify Guru Team. :)

Check out the app, Bouncer

Your SEO won't be affected by this. Google allows modal overlays that open within the same window that a visitor is browsing. Google does not however, allow pop ups that open in a separate window outside the window the visitor is browsing, which isn't the case here.

I hope this helps. If you have any other questions, don't hesitate to reach out. :) 

J

1 Like
Highlighted
19 0 0

Hey John,

Implemented and looks just the job. So there will be no issue of Google bots not being able to read/access the homepage that is my main concern...

Best regards

Tim

0 Likes
Highlighted
19 0 0

Are you 100% about the seo side of this? The reason I ask is i switched to live today so i could get a better look at things and when i run page speed in google developers its showing the age consent popup each time and the suggested improvements all seem related to the pop up image? my site is http://www.vape24.com if you wanna try and take a look. Also is there a way you can get this to work only on the homepage rather than all pages opened?

Thanks in advance

Tim

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Expert
30 0 4

Hi Tim,