App That Updates Metafields With Inventory By Location - Display Inventory By Location Product Page

Highlighted
Excursionist
17 0 7

Hello All,

I've spent days trying to find a solution to the following problem and I'm hoping there is an existing app that can get me closer to a solution.

Problem: We need to display inventory by location on the front-end to the user (we have 4 B&M stores, and want to help the customer know if it's in stock before they visit). The Shopify locations feature seems to only be half baked, they store the inventory by location in the back-end but only pass the aggregate amount of all stores to the front-end. I've pointed this out to Shopify support but I doubt a fix is on its way any time soon.

What I'm looking for: An app that can update the product metafield with the inventory on hand, after which I can then easily display it on the front end. I'm not an app developer but from what I can tell it has to just poll the current inventory through the API and then save it in the correct product metafield. I'm hoping that there is another app that already does this or one that is close that I can repurpose.

If anyone has any suggestions or clues as to where I can look I would appreciate it, I've done every type of search I can think of to find this. We may be pursue the custom app route if nothing exists, but I hope we can find a preexisting app.

1 Like
Highlighted
1 0 1

+1 need this app!

@mfsyyc wrote:

Hello All,

I've spent days trying to find a solution to the following problem and I'm hoping there is an existing app that can get me closer to a solution.