Looking for an app to Bulk edit cost with Variant breakdown.

Solved
Highlighted
Excursionist
15 1 2

I looked at Bulk Editor but it seems i can only edit the all the costs at once, i need to be able to lets say take 100 stickers, and edit the cost on the three different sizes.  Or if someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong with Bulk Editor. 

 

Capture.PNG

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
134 4 54

Did you take a look at this guide?
https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/productivity-tools/bulk-editing-products

 

It seems that if you go to Products --> Edit Products in the Shopify admin, you can do a per product property change:image.png

The products above have no variants though. I'll add some variants to the first product:
image.png

 

And now "Edit Products" brings up the following screen, that allows me to edit all the individual combinations of variants of a product:

image.png
Where a/b/b, a/c/a etc. are combinations of different properties of my product, i.e. it's possible variants.

 

If you still get stuck ping me privately and I'll walk you through the process.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
15 1 2

 

 

 

 

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
134 4 54

So two options:

 

CSV Route
There's a 15MB file limit on uploading a product CSV through the admin portal.

To give you a baseline, the dummy CSV Shopify gives as an example for product CSVs (see Home & Garden in  https://github.com/shopifypartners/product-csvs/archive/master.zip), has 21 products and weighs about 6.5KB. That's  0.3KB per variant of a product (including products with no variants, that count as single variants). So if you had 100 products with 6 variants each (at 600 variants total), you shouldn't bypass the limit (that would entail 25KB per variant line).

Should you go this route, it's pretty straightforward - just do export ---> Edit the cost in a spreadsheet app ---> import.  Here's some information if you get stuck: 
https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/import-export/import-products (and as always, I'm a ping away).


App Route

If you do bypass the limit (super verbose entry fields, for example), or if this Is this an operation you're expecting to do often, I'd go with the app here: https://apps.shopify.com/bulk-price-editor-by-buymaxx

 

This would make for an awesome free public app, actually. Might work on it one of these days.

 

(if this helps, please mark this solution as accepted).

1 Like
Excursionist
15 1 2

This is an accepted solution.

So I did the CSV export, the spreadsheet was in total disarray. wasn't really able to make any sense of it, even put it into sheets like its suggests and no luck. So I found an app that exports it to sheets where i can see the data much better. It's $10/month for 10 syncs but i should be able to get everything i need done under that limit. 

https://apps.shopify.com/sheets?surface_detail=Sheets+-+Sync+with+G+Sheets&surface_inter_position=1&...

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
134 4 54

Very nice @BootEdgeMerch. BTW - what do you mean the sheet was in total disarray? It's interesting that the official export did not work properly. I'd report it to Shopify, if I were you, since it can potentially indicate some data corruption or a bad export service.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
15 1 2
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
134 4 54

Actually, I don't think it's a mess - it's how you'd expect an export to be.

 

Note that each row is a variant of a product, for which you don't necessarily have all the fields filled out. That's OK, since not all variants have descriptions, or options like size and color, etc. This means a lot of blanks, and a lot of (what seems) like useless duplicates, where in actuality they are just variants of the same product.

 

But I agree that it is not clear from first look exactly what you're looking at. I could also be wrong of course, but that's just from a first glance.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
28 0 3

Hello,

 

My name is Alison, and I'm the Customer Success Specialist for Ablestar apps.  I'm sorry for the late replay on this, it sounds like you have solved your problems, but I wanted to reach out just so you have the information. We do have a free version of the app available that allows for 5 free in-app edits and 5 free spreadsheet edits a month, so you can use it without incurring any costs if you sty under that limit.

 

You can modify the prices for the different variants (the different sizes of stickers) using the Bulk Editor and an in-app edit, but you would need to filter for the different variants using the 'Option Name' and 'Option Value' fields.   So you would first filter for 'Option 1 Value' = '6x6', and then you could edit all the variants matching that size at once.

 

You could also do this using the Bulk Editor with a spreadsheet edit.  For this, you would just need to have a spreadsheet (the app can generate the spreadsheet for you) with at least two columns.  The first column needs to be the matching column (we usually use SKU for this), and then any other columns you need to modify.  You can modify this using Excel or Google Sheets (Google Sheets is free), then upload it back into the app to make the changes.

 

I apologize again for the late reply on this. If you would like to try the app again, email me at support@ablestar.co and I will help you set up any edits that you need. 

 

Best,

Alison

0 Likes
Highlighted
New Member
4 0 0
Hi Alison,

Is your app compatible with other apps such as Printful?
0 Likes