Shopify Apps - Major Privacy Concerns / Issues

Tourist
3 0 5

Hi,

I'm new to shopify but not the to the ecommerce world. I recently create my shopify account and started looking at apps. I've noticed that quite a few apps require access to your shopify account data including private client information. Is it just me or is this a major privacy concern? I don't even know why this is allowed.. as it clear that these free apps vendors are collecting and most likely reselling your client information and sales information. This is very bad and I'm not sure why shopify is allowing this to happen?

Does anyone have information on this topic?

Thank you,
Stef

3 Likes
Shopify Expert
9807 92 1561

If the app has access to the Customers API it would have access to customer data (which makes sense). Orders API access would give access to data on an order which would also have some customer data.

Have you come across an app that doesn't touch customers at all but wants that scope? I can think of many valid reasons to expose that data. For example, an email marketing tool that will need email address. Some loyalty app that needs to accumulate spending patterns. etc.

When installing the app the permission scope is made clear so if you have concerns over data usage, don't install it.

★ Winning Partner of the Build a Business competition. ★ http://freakdesign.com.au
1 Like
Tourist
3 0 5

Hi Jason,

I found an app that allows a client to request a product quote prior to purchase. It looks like the app simply replaces the cart button. When installing, I noticed that it needed access to all our information and client information. As nothing in life is free, these apps makers are hoping to give you a free tool against private client info and sales insight to resell. It feels just like Facebook apps from a few years ago that collected friends data with a goal to use it for profits.