Solved

Shopify CLI gives an Error while using it to create an extension!

Jeremy46
Shopify Partner
9 2 0

Hi

My name is jeremy . I'm rather new to using Shopify cli, and I've been trying to create a subscription app extension .

but after running "Shopify extension create" and choosing my app and extension name , the "initializing project" process stops with this error.(it doesnt give an error when creating other extensions)

pic.png

I've been looking everywhere for any sort of answer but I truly cant find what's causing this issue.

any idea's would be greatly appreciated 

thank you

Accepted Solution (1)
MaxNodland
Excursionist
14 1 6

This is an accepted solution.

Try changing shopify-cli\lib\project_types\extension\commands\serve.rb from:

def find_available_port(runtime_configuration)
        return runtime_configuration unless specification_handler.choose_port?(@ctx)

chosen_port = Tasks::ChooseNextAvailablePort
          .call(from: runtime_configuration.port)
          .unwrap { |_error| @ctx.abort(@ctx.message("serve.no_available_ports_found")) }
        runtime_configuration.tap { |c| c.port = chosen_port }
      end

to:

puts "Hack fix is in place."
        return runtime_configuration
      end

View solution in original post

Replies 14 (14)

Jeremy46
Shopify Partner
9 2 0

I need to clarify i was using these instructions that shopify has provided here. and im stuck on the first step

Jeremy46
Shopify Partner
9 2 0

Found it! the problem  was my node so i updated it and it works , but now when i run "shopify extension serve" i get the message:

X No available ports found to run extension.

MaxNodland
Excursionist
14 1 6

I'm running into the same problem with 'no available ports'. I'll post back here if I find a solution.

Jeremy46
Shopify Partner
9 2 0

oh thank you! ive been stuck on this for days

MaxNodland
Excursionist
14 1 6

I've found the problem - I think. At least it's working for me.