Uninstalling Booster Apps application left codes behind

Highlighted
Tourist
3 0 0

Thanks in advance for any help! We have uninstalled Booster Apps application https://apps.shopify.com/trust-hero. It left quite a few files, codes and script behind that are interfering with other applications as I we were notified. Have contacted Booster Apps directly and also escalated through Shopify staff multiple times. They have declined to help.

 

Booster Apps response:

"Jan 31, 20:54 EST

Hi there,
Thanks for the email!
Unfortunately this is an auto-reply as the app only comes with help site support :(
As a business yourselves, I hope you understand that with over 100,000 users of our free apps we can only provide email support for paid customers.
Please check out our Help Center for answers to our most frequently asked questions.
The Booster Apps Team"
 
I have located the following resource but they only talked about one location of code whereas I see their stamp on multiple places in theme codes. 
0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
47 13 8

Don't personally use Booster apps, but we do help customers with their theme code frequently.

 

Once that line with 'include' is removed, none of their code will load on your site. They probably included a couple files in your theme, but these won't affect your site anymore.

Is your store fast enough? Compare your store's speed against hundreds of others for free with our benchmarker - https://www.rvere.com/
0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
3 0 0

Thanks for the response. I would still like to remove all codes / scripts left as junk by uninstalled app. Apps developed should have a clean behaviour to be really considered to be used. I had to uninstall Shop Booster right after I installed due to error, to begin with. Not a quality production.

 

Additionally, as per their instruction above, we don't see booster-discount include tag, instead we see booster-common and booster-message. Not sure if these tags belong to them. Don't want to delete without knowing.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
47 13 8

If you don't have any other apps from Booster on your store, removing those should be safe. Testing your store after removing them would be recommended though. After those are removed, deleting any files with "Booster" in the file name should be safe. Again, testing your store after removing each file is recommended.

Is your store fast enough? Compare your store's speed against hundreds of others for free with our benchmarker - https://www.rvere.com/
1 Like
Highlighted
Tourist
3 0 0

Thanks Alex. Last week I already removed all files and codes that had 'booster' in it. It worked out.

0 Likes
Highlighted

Hi there,

 

My apologies - just seeing this now.

 

Our Trust Hero app operates on Shopify Script Tags which will remove all code upon uninstalling.

 

However, if you have a "booster-message" file - this looks like you are using one of our messenger apps.

 

Glad to hear all is good now but pease feel free to email stuart@boosterapps.com if you have any further issues with this.

 

Cheers

Stuart

Stuart @ Booster Apps (https://apps.shopify.com/partners/booster-apps)
0 Likes