Add Borders around product images in Simple Theme

Tourist
8 0 1

Hi, 

I have not had any problems so far with editing, but I am having difficulties for the location and code to put borders around product / thumbnail image.

If anyone can help, please let me know the code and also where to find the location it needs to be put in. Thank you in advance.

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
333 31 63

Hi, Cynthia!

This is May from Shopify.

That is a good question! While I am not an expert in coding, I find that you can make this change by editing your theme code. You can add a border to your product thumbnail by editing your ‘product-grid-item.liquid’ file. Before making any changes to your code, I strongly recommend making a duplicate of your theme, in case of any unintended results. After you make a duplicate, you can follow the steps below to achieve this!

1. From your admin, you’ll want to click on ‘Online Store > Actions > Edit code’.

2. You can find ‘product-grid-item.liquid’ file under your ‘Snippets’ folder.

3. Find this line of code:   

<div class="supports-js" style="max-width: {{ 600 | times: product.featured_image.aspect_ratio | round }}px; margin: 0 auto;">

If you have never edit this file before, you can find this code on line 25.

4. To add the border, you can add the code below inside ‘style’.

border: 1px solid; border-color: #000;

You can adjust the thickness and color of the border by changing the code above. If you’d like a thicker border you can replace 1px with a larger number. If you’d like to change the color, you can pick a hex color and replace #000 with your desired color.

5. Finally, your code should look like this:   

<div class="supports-js" style="border: 1px solid; border-color: #000; max-width: {{ 600 | times: product.featured_image.aspect_ratio | round }}px; margin: 0 auto;">

6. Click ‘Save’.