Add a fixed/sticky navigation bar in Debut theme

Highlighted
Tourist
6 0 2

Hello,

I'd like to add a fixed/sticky navigation bar to the Debut theme. I've seen plenty of similar questions but none with code specific to the Debut theme.  Please let me know which file to modify and what code to add.

Also, if I want to customize the CSS of section padding and buttons etc where should this code be placed? I'm new to Shopify coding. Typically I'd create a child theme (WordPress) with just my additional CSS code so that theme updates would not overwrite my code.

Thank you!

Highlighted
Tourist
4 0 4

I want to do the same thing... 

So far, I have gotten the notification bar and navigation bar fixed, however the navigation is under the notification bar and goes under other elements when you scroll, plus the BG in the nav bar is transparent, I want it to be '$color-body' (which is currently white). 

To fix navigation bar: 

in theme.scss.liquid around line 3522 find: 

.site-header {
  background-color: $color-body;
  position: relative;
  padding: 0 $gutter-site;

change to: 

.site-header {
  background-color: $color-body;
  position: fixed;
  padding: 0 $gutter-site;

This 'fixes' the nav bar. 

To fix notification bar (if you have it enabled): 

in theme.scss.liquid find:

.notification-bar {
  text-align: center;
  position: relative;
  z-index: $z-index-notification-bar;
}

chang to

.notification-bar {
  width: 100%;
  z-index: $z-index-notification-bar;
}

Thats as far as I've gotten today. It is beer thirty now. I'll post updates if I can figure the rest out. It has been years since I've coded anything. Good luck. 

Do or do not, there is no try. - Yoda.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
6 0 2

I think I have this working. It seems you need CSS and JS for this to work correctly. Here's what I did.

I pasted the following code at the bottom of theme.scss.liquid

body {
  padding-top: 150px;
}
.site-header {
  height: 150px;
  z-index: 100;
  top: 0;
  left: 0;