Add free gift to cart (WITHOUT APP)

Anton11
Visitor
2 0 3

We want to run a promotion where a customer is entitled to a free gift once they spend over a certain amount. When this condition is true, I want to add the free gift item into the customer's cart. How is this possible WITHOUT AN APP?

I appreciate any help, as so far I have not found anything on this. I am a developer so I shoud be ok if pointed in the right direction.

Thanks!

Replies 15 (15)

Dallas
Shopify Staff (Retired)
916 61 211

Hi, there

This is Dallas from the Social Care team here at Shopify. 

For what you are wanting to do an app would be the best option. However, you may be able to add some modifications to the gift wrapping product feature that is shown here.

This allows a product to automatically be added to the cart when another product is added to the cart. It would need a coding adjustment, however, to allow it to automatically add the product based on the cart value. 

If you are comfortable with writing code then you'd want to replace Step 4. in Create a code snippet with a version that will take value into account rather than the item. 

If you are using a Shopify theme then you can even write in to our email support and we can take a look to see if our themes team can get this set up for you. If you are using a third party theme then I suggest reaching out to the Experts. They will be a great option for getting this up and running. You are able to check what your theme is by going to your Theme Customizer (Online Store > Themes > Theme Customizer in your Store Admin). From there you can select Theme Settings and scroll down to the bottom of the sidebar. 

If you would rather just download an app these ones are great options for what you are looking for: 

I hope this helps you out! If you have any other questions please don't hesitate to let me know. We also have 24/7 phone/chat/email support with gurus ready to answer your questions.

Cheers, 
Dallas