Add to cart button for products on front page/on collections pages in Minimal

Tourist
8 0 2

I've searched and can only really find outdated information on this topic, does anyone know how I can do this please?

I am a complete newb at changing/editing but I am great at following instructions step by step.

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
537 0 71

Hey, Dawn!

Savannah here from the Shopify Guru Team. 

I'm happy to walk you through adding that option step-by-step. My only concern with adding an 'Add to Cart' button onto every product of your collection grid/home page is that we won't be able to create a variant selector. The first variant will be selected automatically. Either way, here's how we add it: 

• Navigate to Online store>Themes and select "Edit HTML/CSS" from the Actions Menu.
  • From the left-hand menu, select the Snippets folder 
  • From the snippets folder, select the product-grid-item.liquid 
  • Scroll to the very bottom of the code and paste this code: 
<form method="post" action="/cart/add"> <input type="hidden" name="id" value="{{ product.variants.first.id }}" /> <input type="submit" value="Add to Cart" class="btn" /> </form>

Let me know if that does the trick! 

Savannah | Shopify Guru
support@shopify.com

2019 NOTE: This is an old forum post from 2017 and the Minimal theme has since been updated. The code advised here might not work for your theme. Please feel free to contact our Support directly here for assistance. Alternatively, you can create a new forum post within our Design Thread where fellow merchants, Experts and developers may be able to help. Always make sure to create a backup of your theme as shown here before making any coding changes.
2 Likes
Tourist
8 0 2

Hi Savannah,

Ah.. it never occured to me that it wouldn't work for variants!

Maybe I'll go and have a re-think, maybe I'll have something like a quick view instead (which Im sure there is an app for)

Thank you so much for your reply :-)

Dawn

0 Likes
1 0 0