Box border around products

Highlighted
Tourist
8 0 1

Can anyone tell me how to create a basic 1px box around my products? I am using the minmal theme. I am a beginner, so please try to keep explination simple.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Expert
115 21 44

You will need to edit the code on your theme. 

ADMIN => Online Store => Themes => Find Minimal (Click 3 dots icon top right) => Edit HTML/CSS

Find the file theme.scss.liquid and add this code to the very bottom. (You can replace #ccc with the hex code for the color you want.)

.grid-link {border:1px solid #ccc;}

You will probably want to also center the text below the thumbnail so it doesn't push against the borders. 

ADMIN => Online Store => Themes => Find Minimal => Click Customize Theme => Collection Page (tab) => Check Center text below product images

Hopefully that helps you out. Good luck!

1 Like
Highlighted
Tourist
8 0 1

Hi Eric, thank you so much for replying but I actually wanted the box just around the product image itself. This is the look I am going for (see attached).

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Expert
115 21 44

Ah, no problem. Try this code instead (add to the bottom of theme.scss.liquid): 

.grid-link__image img {border:1px solid #ccc;}

0 Likes
Highlighted
4 0 0

How do I have the border only apear as an overlay on products when you hover over them?

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Expert
115 21 44

Chris - try this: 

.grid-link__image img:hover {border:1px solid #ccc;}

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
8 0 1

Thanks Eric! Starting to look great. I have had to re-size a few images as they were too big but all good.

When I click on a product though there isn't a border. Have you got a code for the product page?

TIA!

0 Likes
Highlighted
4 0 0

Thank you! Where would I put this line of code in the Symmetry theme code? 

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
13 0 0

Hi Eric,

Thank you so much for this line of code. I was searching for this from 2 days.

I have used below code :

.grid-link {