Can I build WITHOUT a bespoke theme? - various preferred requirements

Chris_Whalley
1 0 0

Hello, firstly sorry for the vague title, I have lots of questions so can't be specific on one thing.

I have a shop that sells mostly (football) teamwear. I had a website build for me several years ago with what I believe is a bespoke theme (or rather parts of it are). Here is the link - https://www.twentytwoshop.com/ - This enabled the customer to be able to sort products by primary colour, secondary colour, brand, gender, age. And then be able to add customisation to the products such numbers, names, badges, sponsor logos. It served a purpose more as a catalogue, but it takes ages to upload products and to be honest doesn't sell much. I do 99% of my sales through my actual shop. I have no shopify coding experience, I can just add products and text etc. And on the times I've tried to edit menus and more complex things I've failed, perhaps because of the bespoke sections. My old web designers have grown much bigger than I can afford so getting small things changed can cost hundreds of pounds. 

I'm at the point where I think rather than trying to edit this current configuration I need to totally start over again. So I am wondering if through the shopify apps that I add myself I'll be able to:

1. Use CSV files to uploads products? (hundreds of products from each that change each year, I currently have to upload a selection manually which takes ages, but suppliers usually provide CSV data).

2. Have the option for customers to search using colour filters and/or brand filters etc. I saw this might be possible using 'variants', but for different product categories the same filters would always be needed. So within 'shirts'. for example, colour and brand might be needed, but within 'trophies' I might not need any variants. In my current set up the left hand side filters remain all the time, which isn't ideal.