Can liquid interact via GraphQL endpoint?

Solved
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
29 0 2

hi dev theme fellows, I am pretty new to dev theme.  a friend of mine has an issue on sorting newest products on `whats-new` page.  Her workflow looks like this: she preps to release product in advance(about 2 weeks) by the time product get published(if it is future product Shopify does not provide date:( `published_at`) it is becoming not new one since it is sort by date created and product gets pushed down the list. From liquid file, it seems it is tight to `collections.sorting.` API. So the question is is there may be another way to tackle this issue may be via `tags`? Any thoughts guys on this?

This is snip from collection-sorting.liquid

<option value="created-ascending">{{ 'collections.sorting.date_ascending' | t }}</option>

My thoughts on GraphQL is if I can stick the query request somehow there then I can sort based on the tag and do some manipulation.  I am not sure if it is possible and wanted to run by you. 

0 Likes
Highlighted

Success.

Shopify Expert
9852 98 1614

To answer your thread post specifically - no.

You can use Liquid to adjust the order of items in a collection but only for a paginated set. I've also seen this approached by just using a collection that has items added removed, or adding/removing tags to keep a collection full of just new things, or pulling in content and ordering with JavaScript, or adding items to a menu (linklist).

Not sure of the business process behind the scenes so hard to make any suggestion on how you might code it.

At least you know that you can not order an entire collection with Liquid. If you will only return at most 50 items then Liquid could help. More than that will need an alternate approach that might include the above.

★ Winning Partner of the Build a Business competition. ★ http://freakdesign.com.au
1 Like
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
29 0 2

Thanks @Jason !

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
1665 52 192