Change only header and footer text color, Brooklyn

Solved
AbsüreClothing
Tourist
20 0 0

Hi, how do I change navigation menu text in the header (with icons) and the text in the footer only from black to white?  Without coding, I can only change the header text that will change also every other title in white and it doesn't work since my background is white as well. Here's the preview: https://wtmrdxhnou008lm3-2427486259.shopifypreview.com

P.S.: the header is ok on the home page only, when changing to other pages it turns black. 

0 Likes
AbsüreClothing
Tourist
20 0 0

And then, I might need to change the color of the background of the actual footer to black. 
I tried this code 

.site-footer {
  padding-bottom: $gutter;
background-color: #FFF;

But I get a white line between the footer and hero image, plus the hero image sliding dots are now in the footer... 

0 Likes
May
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
335 32 145

Hi, there!

This is May from Shopify.

Although I am not an expert in coding, I’ve done some testings on my test store to find out how to make this customization. Before making any edits to your code, I always encourage you to duplicate your theme, in case of any unintended results. Once you’ve done that, feel free to copy and paste the code below on the very bottom of ‘theme.scss.liquid’ file. To find this file, you’ll want to go to ‘Online store > Actions > Edit code’, then open up your ‘Assets’ folder.

/* Changing the navigation menu's font color to white. */
a.site-nav__link {
  color: #fff;
}

/* Changing the footer font color to white. */
.site-footer a, p {
}

/* Removing the white bar, which is the padding on top of the footer. */
.slick-slider {
  margin-bottom: 0px;
}

/* Changing your footer background to black, and add a top padding of 20px. */
.site-footer {
  background-color: #000;
  padding-top: 20px;
}