Changing background color of input forms

Adrien_Taylor1
5 0 0

Hi everyone, 

I'm new to Shopify and launced my site www.OffcutCaps.com just over a week ago. It's going well but I'd really like to change the background color of the input forms for: email signup, contact form, and the dropdown variants menu in products. I want to change it from white to match the same color as the site's background, #dadad2. 

Have tried a lot of things and read a bunch of posts but still no luck. Would have massive gratitude to anyone who can help me solve this. Thanks!

Adrien

0 Likes
Kyle_K
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
119 0 16

Hi Adrian,

You can make this change by going to your timber.sccs file and locatiing this section of css below. 

textarea,
select {
  border: 1px solid $colorBorder;
  width: 100%;
  max-width: 100%;
  display: block;
  margin: 0 0 1em;
  color: #333 !important;
}

You then add the last line called background-color: #dadad2; 

textarea,
select {
  border: 1px solid $colorBorder;
  width: 100%;
  max-width: 100%;
  display: block;
  margin: 0 0 1em;
  color: #333 !important;
  background-color: #dadad2; 
}

Update this change in your timber.scss file and that will change the background color of those inputs fields for your contact form. 

To update the color for your product variants drop-down you need to go to your timber.scss file and update your

select { 

css field with background-color: #dadad2. See this screenshot for an example. 

Your Guru,
Kyle

Jason
Shopify Expert
10039 119 1876

Another option would be to use something like the below. Whilst I am not find of ever using the !important decloration, it can offer a quick fix.

/* change background colour of select elements & some input fields to transparent */

select, input[type="text"],input[type="email"] {
    background-color: transparent!important;
}

★ Winning Partner of the Build a Business competition. ★ http://freakdesign.com.au
0 Likes
Adrien_Taylor1
5 0 0