Changing the margin/padding between the sections and pictures of products

8 0 0

Hello, may I know how do you change the margin/padding between the different sections as well as the products. I have created several sections in my website: rich text, featured products, our collection and newsletter. There is however, a large white gap between the 'our collection' section and the pictures from the featured products. So:

1. How do I remove the white gap between the two elements?

2. How do I reduce/alter the gap size between the featured products and the pictures below it (I attached 3 pictures below my 'featured product' section?

Thanks!

Nicholas.

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
335 31 78

Hello, Nicholas!

This is May from Shopify.

Thank you for posting your questions! I am not an expert in coding, however this looks like some adjustments that can be done by editing your theme code. In the steps below, I will base my tutorial on the Brooklyn theme, since it is one of the most popular free themes. Now, let’s begin!

1. How do I remove the white gap between the two elements?

i. For starters, from your admin, you’ll want to go to ‘Online Store > Actions > Edit code’.

ii. Inside your ‘Assets’ folder, select ‘theme.scss.liquid’.

iii. Search for ‘.shopify-section {‘. You can press Command + F if you are on a mac or Control + F on Windows.

iv. To adjust the spacing, you can change ‘margin-top’ by entering a number, or change the operations. For example:

margin-top: 50px;

Or

margin-top: $gutter * 2; //value of $gutter multiplied by 2

v. Click ‘Save’.

Please note that once you make changes to ‘theme.scss.liquid’, you cannot revert back to older versions. Therefore, I strongly recommend making a duplicate of your theme, to ensure that you have a backup in case there are any unintended results.

2. How do I reduce/alter the gap size between the featured products and the pictures below it?