Create new layout.

Solved
Doug17
Excursionist
17 0 7

Hi friends,

I am a designer looking to create a new header layout for my client.  I'm clear that there is no FTP so this leaves me wondering how I would accomplish this?  The theme itself has small boxes where small amounts of css or javascript can be entered, but what I'm trying to do doesn't suit this.  I am also aware that I can access the code for the theme, but through the browser.  Naturally, I'd like to use my IDE.

I had expected to easily be able to FTP in to the site, create a copy of an existing layout, make my changes and upload, but no dice.

Any helps is appreciated.

Thank you.

0 Likes
Ninthony
Shopify Partner
1905 286 746
Shopify is pretty modular, all the bits and pieces of code are split up into different types of files. The central layout file is "theme.liquid" in your Layouts folder, which you can get to by going to Online Store > Actions > Edit Code. In theme.liquid you'll see the skeleton for your HTML, (html, head, body) tags. Typically sites have a header, footer, and a shopify object called {{ content_for_layout }} which outputs whatever template file you happen to be viewing:

{% section 'header' %}

{{ content_for_layout }}

{% section 'footer' %}

Your templates folder is where the meat of your site is. index.liquid handles your homepage, page.liquid handles your pages, product.liquid handles your product pages, collection.liquid handles your collection pages, etc. Typically when you open these you'll see a section object that outputs a different file. For example, if you open product.liquid you'll probably see something like:

{% section 'product-template' %}

That's basically an include that's pulling the contents of a file called "product-template.liquid" from your sections folder. The reason this is done is because section files have a special portion of their code called the schema:

{% schema %}

//settings here

{% endschema %}