Debut Theme - Please help with adding previous/next buttons or arrows to my product pages with collection.next_product and collection.previous_product

Yvonne_McKenzie
4 0 0

Hi all

I'm new to Shopify and am about to go live with my shop. I have set-up my shop with the Debut Theme.
I am fairly weak with actual coding, but when I can follow steps, I'm ok.

I would like to add previous/next arrows or buttons on my product pages.

I found a few old forums and one recent forum, but no complete answer.

Is someone able to provide me with the code information and the steps to take to allow for previous/next links on my product pages...including the recognition to grey out "previous" when first image of collection and "next" when last image of collection please.

Can you also please tell me where exactly I need to paste this code e.g. code document and lines?

Greatly appreciated, thank you.

0 Likes
Bo
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
1704 181 503

Hey there, Yvonne.

Bo here from Shopify Support.

That is a really great question and an even better idea. Reducing the number of clicks to get to the next product really makes the site more customer friendly and makes casual browsing that bit easier, which should, by all means, help increase your conversion rate.

I took a look into this and figured out how to add these buttons to the top of your product page so it shows up like so:

• You will need to go to Online Store > Actions > Edit Code.
  • Open up the Sections folder and select product-template.liquid.
  • Scroll to line 40 and paste the following code:
    <div class="product-nav clearfix">
       {% if collection.previous_product %}
       <div class="left">{{ '&larr; Previous Product' | link_to: collection.previous_product }}</div>
       {% endif %}
       {% if collection.next_product %}
       <div class="right">{{ 'Next Product &rarr;' | link_to: collection.next_product }}</div>
       {% endif %}
     </div>       

• Hit Save.