Different section options for different pages with same sections

Highlighted
3 0 2

I am new to Shopify (been building on Wordpress for a few years). I have created several sections for the home page. I now want to make several landing pages that have the same sections as the home page but different values. 

i.e. Home page h1 -> 'My Home Page'. Landing page 1 h1 -> 'My Landing Page 1'

I have copied all the sections to me page.landing.liquid and created several page using this template but whenever I change the sections value of the one section using the theme editor, it changes the value on all the pages. 

Does anyone have any advice on how to best achive this in Shopify?

2 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Expert
2684 67 841

You will have to duplicate your Sections to make them different on different pages, unfortunately.

https://help.shopify.com/themes/development/theme-editor/sections#static-sections

Want to hire me to tweak a theme? Mail me at tairli@yahoo.com!
My post solved your problem? Like it!
I am away till Feb-15.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
106 1 16

It's an annoying to have to replicate code.  I have a custom banner section that I want to use on a generic page.template but have to create a template for each unique page.

It looks like a section needs a unique schema name to be processed and stored into settings_data.json - if that is the case if we could use a variable in the JSON for the schema name, we should be able to reuse sections with the use of  snippets?

The barrier to this idea is that {%schema%}  tag can only contain static json, but a tweak to the schema tag to allow a variable to be passed, just like the {%include%} tag would open this up:-

ie. {% schema, schema_name: page.title %}