Display main image not first variant on page load.

7 0 0

Hi all,

I've trawled the search function and found a fair few posts about variant images etc but not really one that fits what I'm after or if it does it's not very clear that it's the same thing. 

I am using Supply theme and I have product variant images. The problem is when the user clicks on the item to get to the product page it automatically changes the image to the first variants image. I don't want to do that, I'd like the main product image to stay until the user selects a variant from the drop down. I'd be happy with the default item saying something like "Please pick a color" and then defaulting to the main product image.

Could anyone help me get an idea about how this could be accomplished? I'm fairly new to Shopify but I can manage html, css and JS but not so experienced with JQuery or liquid. 

Many thanks in advance for all of your time...

Cheers

Stuart.

0 Likes
Shopify Expert
9807 92 1560

In supply, you'd need to edit product.liquid and remove (or comment out) part of the code. So change this:

if (variant.featured_image) {
        var newImg = variant.featured_image,
            el = $featuredImage[0];
        $(function() {
          Shopify.Image.switchImage(newImg, el, timber.switchImage);
        });
      }

into:

/*
      if (variant.featured_image) {
        var newImg = variant.featured_image,
            el = $featuredImage[0];
        $(function() {
          Shopify.Image.switchImage(newImg, el, timber.switchImage);
        });
      }
*/

★ Winning Partner of the Build a Business competition. ★ http://freakdesign.com.au
1 Like
7 0 0

Hi Jason,