Help requested to add "Read More" and to Collection Descriptions in collection.liquid

Highlighted
3 0 0

I've been using Shopify for about 2 years now but I've never posted a question to the forums. Hopefully, this will help because I'm stuck.

I want to add a "Read More" link to Collection Descriptions by modifying collection.liquid (and CSS if necessary).

The discussion below is what I want to do, but I don't use tabs on my collection pages so I know the code doesn't need to be as involved. The discussion below is also about doing something similar to Product Descriptions, not Collection Descriptions.

https://ecommerce.shopify.com/c/ecommerce-design/t/adding-read-more-to-product-descriptions-help-379...

I tried some of the other discussion solutions but none seem updated enough to work.

Here is a link to a collection page I'd like to change - https://www.batteries.com/collections/cr-lithium-sr-silver-oxide-lr-alkaline-coin-cell-battery-butto....

I'd like to make sure that this works on mobile - I'm using Venture with some modifications if that helps.

One final note, as soon as I get this done, I'd like to do same for Product page descriptions by making similar changes to product.liquid (and CSS if necessary).

Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
57 3 3

Hey are you just basically looking for an expandable description? Like original shows two lines w/ a “read more”, click read more & full description displays? 

If so I think this could be done with jQuery. Something like the below 

<div class=“container”>
   <span id=“truncated”> {{ collection.description | truncatewords: 10, “Read More” }}</span> 
   <span id=“fullDescription” style=“display: none” > {{ collection.description }} </span>

</div>

<script>
$(document).on(“click”,’#truncated’,function(){
 $(this).fadeOut; 
$(‘#fullDescription’).fadeIn();

});
</script>

0 Likes
Highlighted
3 0 0