How do you hide collection descriptions on mobile?

2 0 0

Hello! I'm using the theme Ella, but this is more a general CSS question.

I need to hide my collection descriptions on smaller screens because they push the products too far down.

While trying different things, I've successfully hidden collection titles on smaller screens by pasting the following:

<style>
@media only screen and (min-width: 751px) {
h1 {
display: none;

}
}
</style>

But titles are not what I want to target.
I've tried replacing "h1" with things like "collection-des" hoping the effect would just transfer to the description text, but no luck.

I'm new to CSS so I've just been taking stabs in the dark hoping something will work. Can anyone please recommend a better way to structure the CSS text between the style tags so that this may actually hide the collection descriptions? Thank you in advance.

0 Likes
Shopify Expert
20 3 4

Hey ColtonR, 

You're on the right track. Do you have a URL handy so I can see the live site?

https://enjoythemecompany.com/
0 Likes
2 0 0

Thanks for the response.

URL to homepage: https://buddylove.com/

URL to a collection page with a description: https://buddylove.com/collections/dresses

0 Likes
Astronaut
1069 145 260

Yeah you wouldn't want to hide all of your h1 tags this way, if for any reason you end up using h1 tags in the future. What you could do is find where your collection description is output in your code. This will be in collection.liquid in your templates folder, but often leads to another file in your sections folder called collection-template.liquid -- It really depends on the theme though. Go to your collection.liquid file and Ctrl + F and search for "collection.description". If you can't find it, if you see something like this:

{% section 'collection-template' %}