[How-to] Multiple Dropdown Sorting Boxes on Collection Pages (Brooklyn)

Excursionist
14 1 2

I am posting this to help anyone with the Brooklyn theme that wants to add sorting dropdown boxes to their Collections pages. I am no programmer. I have been tinkering with websites/programming for over 25 year or so. I had to piece this together myself from bits I found online. It works perfect for my store. Please use at your own risk. BE SURE to backup your theme before applying this code.

Here is an example of the dropdowns on my Collection pages.

Here is how I did it.

Go to Online Store>Themes and click Actions button, then Edit Code. Find Snippits and open collection-template.liquid.

• Scroll down and find </header>. 
  • Just above the </header> paste the following code.

<!-- Multiple Dropdown Sorting Boxes - Collections START -->   
      <div class="clearfix filter">
      <p>Filters</p>
      <div class="four-columns">
        <p>Style:</p>
        <select class="coll-filter">
          <option value="">All</option>
          {% for tag in collection.tags %}
            {% if tag contains 'style-' %}
             {% assign tagName = tag | remove: 'style-' %}         
              {% if current_tags contains tag %}
              <option value="{{ tag | handle }}" selected>{{ tagName }}</option>
              {% else %}
              <option value="{{ tag | handle }}">{{ tagName }}</option>
              {% endif %}                     
            {% endif %}
          {% endfor %}
        </select>
      </div>
        <p>Color/Pattern:</p>
            {% if tag contains 'col-' %}
             {% assign tagName = tag | remove: 'col-' %}         
              {% else %}
              {% endif %}                     
            {% endif %}
          {% endfor %}
        </select>
      </div>
        <p>Season:</p>
            {% if tag contains 'sea-' %}
             {% assign tagName = tag | remove: 'sea-' %}         
              {% else %}