How to center products on a collections page? (Debut Theme)

Kenny_Azama
1 0 0

Hi there,

I only have 2 products and am trying to center them on my collections page. I tried adjusting the settings to display just 2 products per row but the images came out too large. So I want to keep the size setting of 3 products per row but center just 2 products.

Thanks so much for your help!

Cheers,
Kenny

0 Likes
May
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
334 32 146

Hi, Kenny!

This is May from Shopify.

I am not an expert in coding, but when I visited your website and viewed the source code, it looks like you can achieve this by editing your theme code. Before making any changes to your code, be sure to make a duplicate of your theme to ensure that your customers aren’t affected by any unintended results! After that, you can follow the steps below to center your products!

1. From you admin, click on ‘Online Store > Actions > Edit code’.

2. In your ‘Sections’ folder, select a file called ‘collection-template.liquid’.

3. Search for ‘grid--view-items’ inside the file. You’ll want to edit this line of code!

4. Inside the bracket, add

style="margin-right: -50%; left: 50%;"

and your code should look like       

<div class="grid grid--uniform{% if collection.products_count > 0 %} grid--view-items{% endif %}" style="margin-right: -50%; left: 50%;">

5. Click ‘Save’.

The steps above should allow you to center your products in the collections page without making the products appear large. For future reference, if you ever change your mind or want to change the layout of the page, you can always roll back to an older version of your theme.

If you’re not comfortable with making this change, I suggest reaching out to our Shopify Experts. Alternatively, since you are using a theme made by Shopify, our theme support may be able to look into making the change if your account is eligible!