How to create a collection template that alters the products shown per row for one collection only

Highlighted
2 0 0

Hello!

I'm brand new to Shopify/coding. I am trying to create a custom collection template that alters the amount of products shown per row for 1 specific collection I have. So, I have 4 collections; 3 of those I want to have 3 products across, which I know how to change in the theme customization and they are all set. However for the 4th collection I would like it to show 5 products per row instead of 3.

I know I need to create a custom collection template that I then apply to this one collection. I know how to add a new blank collection template, however after that, I don't know what code to paste in and what code to change. Do I also need to create/alter any json files?? I have searched all the forums, youtube, etc. etc. and no one seems to have asked/answered this question before.

I would appreciate any and all help for solving this problem - I'm sure it is an easy solution, I just have no idea what to do. Thanks in advance!

0 Likes

sounds like you just need to make a collection template and include css to overwrite the default products per row.

CSS would look something like this:

<style>
    .grid-item{
        width: 20%;
    }
</style>

replace .grid-item with the class for each product container.

We work on Shopify stores to improve, maintain, and build functionality across all store types.
- Reach Out To Us! | hello@storemedics.com
- Visit Our Site! | https://www.storemedics.com

If we helped, leave a Like / Accept Solution
0 Likes
Highlighted
2 0 0

My coding-talented brother-in-law was able to help me find a solution. I am pasting what he said he did here, in case anyone else runs into this problem and wants to change the amount of products in rows/columns for a single collection:

1. Make a new collection file in Templates (pasting over the original collection-template.liquid code)

2. Add a new collection-template in Sections