How to edit theme code if editing in theme.scss.css doesn't work?

Solved
2 0 1

Hello, I just recently bought a store from someone and even though it looks good there are some things I would like to change. I'm just starting to learn how to edit code and wanted to change the button size for the add to cart/ buy now button from 100% to 70%. The videos I've watched on this are pretty simple and used a method of inspecting the element, finding the same line of code in the theme.scss.css files and changing the size. Now the problem I ran into is that when I try to find the line of code in theme.scss.css it doesn't show up and I think this is because that's not where the code for the button is. So basically I assume the change for the button width needs to made elsewhere or something. I added screenshots of what I wanted to change plus one of the screen that's different from the tutorials I watched to explain what I mean. If anyone could clarify why it's not working or how I can make it work that would be greatly appreciated! Screenshot (75).pngScreenshot (76).pngScreenshot (77)_LI.jpg

0 Likes
Shopify Partner
239 59 68

Hello @MozayL,

Welcome to the Shopify Community!

I understand that you want to change the button size for the Add to Cart / Buy Now button from 100% to 70%. You're having trouble finding the right line of code.

I may be able to help you with this. Will you send me a link to your store?

Cheers!

Brian | Shopify Partner | Ecommerce Consultant
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Click Accept as Solution  
 - Need further assistance? Visit www.BrianAtWork.com

1 Like
Shopify Partner
1656 277 344

Hi @MozayL 

Follow this:

Add this css in Asset->theme.scss file at bottom of page:

.product-form__cart-submit{margin: 0 auto; width: 70%;}
.shopify-payment-button__button{width: 70%;margin: 10px auto;}
Want to modify or custom changes on store hire me.
If helpful then please Like and Accept Solution.