How to have different variants showed as different products with different URLs

paul_fouche
4 0 0

Hi,

I am here because i need some help on this. I am from Fitz & Huxley, a backpack brand based in Berlin, and we are transposing our store from wordpress to shopify. 

My question is the following: I would like to have variants, but being on the shop as different products, as it is currently on our website. For now, i have only seen that shopify has the possibility to have one product with different variations, but that is not what i want. I want that when i click on a variant, it is redirecting to another product, and therefore a different URL. See an example here.

Do you know if there is any app/feature from Shopify that proposes this kind of thing? I do not understand how this is possible that i cannot find it. I would prefer not to use any code or whatever, as i am really not an expert in it.

I am using the Flex Theme, by Out of The Sandbox.

Thanks In advance.

0 Likes
Mircea_Piturca
Shopify Partner
1485 42 310

Hey Paul,

With Shopify, all variants are displayed under a single URL. You can have a query string to differentiate between those URLs:

Large - https://simpletheme-light.myshopify.com/products/stealth-bomber-jacket-navy?variant=31363498639382

Extra Large - https://simpletheme-light.myshopify.com/products/stealth-bomber-jacket-navy?variant=31363498704918

... the same product handle is used, stealth-bomber-jacket-navy, but the default selected options change.

You could create 10 similar products and link them altogether from those color swatches, but I think that this would be really hard to maintain and manage.

May I ask why do you need this behavior? 

Finally—Add variant descriptions to your products
0 Likes
paul_fouche
4 0 0

Hi Mircea,

Thank you a lot for this answer. I would like to have this feature for a few reasons: