How to left-align text on the "image with text overlay" in Debut?

3 0 0

I'm currently using Debut (https://shop.makelovelythings.com) and I'd like to make the overlay text left-aligned instead of centered so it doesn't run over the products in my image. I'm new to Shopify, so I'm having trouble finding that option. Is it something I need to change in the code, and if so where do I find it?

Thanks!

0 Likes

Hey Kim, 

If this is your desired layout http://take.ms/M3iKN

1. Open sections/hero.liquid (Themes > Edit code)

2. Change 'text-center' to 'text-left' as in this screenshot http://take.ms/ONfCM

3.  Add this css code to the very bottom of theme.scss.liquid

.hero__inner .mega-subtitle{
 margin: 0;
}

Available for hiring. Inbox me lixonic[at]gmail[dot]com
1 Like
Tourist
46 0 3

Hi Kim,

You can add text-align: left and remove margin: 0 auto; on this 

#shopify-section-hero .page-width {

text-align: left;

}

Let me know if you have success.  That is 100% solution.

1 Like
3 0 0

I got it to work! Thanks so much for your help, Maya and Lixon! :)

0 Likes
Shopify Partner
1 0 0

This is great, thanks Maya and Lixon.

How can I make it on the debut theme so I can have multiple "Image with text overlay" sections go from Left Align to Right Align to Left Align?

Thanks!

0 Likes
2 0 0

Hi Lixon

I followed your instructions but while it has pulled it to the left it has gone funny. Are you able to tell me what I have done wrong?

0 Likes
2 0 0

Ah all good I have worked it out! For anyone else who gets stuck- theme.scss.liquid  is under Assets

0 Likes
1 0 0

I followed these directions and the text for the "Heading" is changed, but the text underneath is still centered

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
335 31 79

Hi, @SkyLaur!

May here from Shopify.