How to use the same section multiple times on the same template

Highlighted
Shopify Partner
1 0 0

Hello everyone!

I'm new to customizing shopify themes and I'm trying to do the following.

I want to add new sections on my product page. This is something I managed to do.

However I came across an issue. Let's say I want to the same section multiple times.

When I open the customization preview, I see the website loads the sections properly, but the panel to the left only loads one repsecitve section. From then on, I can only customize the first section I added through code. The others are there (on the page) but I can not customize their settings via the left panel.

For example:

I add a section called "foo" in the template code. It loads on the webpage and I can customize the preferences through the panel. All is perfect.

But if I add "foo", "foo", "foo" in the code, it will only give me the first one's settings through the panel, ignoring the rest, even though they show on the webpage.

I tried doing the same on the Homepage that uses dynamic sections. What I noticed there, was that the theme automatically assigns a different name when you use the same section.

For example the above case would be: "foo-65412", "foo-97856", "foo-64179".

I have a feeling I should look into the JSON file maybe. What is your advice? Has anyone tackled something like this?

Apologies if there is already a topic. I searched and to the best of my knowledge I didn't find anything.

Thank you in advance for the help!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
11 0 3

I just encountered the same problem.  Seems to be a bug in shopify. Including multiple instances of the same section on your page (with different settings) is a perfectly legit thing to do!  As a work around you can copy/paste your section and rename it: "foo1" "foo2" "foo3".  That way you can have three copies per page and each will have their own settings.