I Can't Remove "Powered By Shopify"

Highlighted
4 0 0

I am using the default pre-launch page while start development on a custom theme and I have been unable to remove the "powered by shopify" text in the footer. I found the string in several places and no matter what I change I can't seem to remove it. What is the template or section that is being used for this page. Sorry for the n00b question, I am new to this platform. 

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
1467 89 320

Hey, Chris!

Peter here from Shopify Support! 

We have a great guide here that outlines how to remove the "Powered by Shopify" text, however, it can be tricky at the best of times, so I'm also going to dive into the steps below!

For this example, I will be using the "Debut" theme, however, if you're using one of our other free themes the steps should be fairly similar. For starters, you'll want to navigate to Online Store/Themes and select "Actions" then "Edit Code" for the theme you wish to edit. 

From here, you're going to be looking for a folder titled "Sections" which will contain the "footer.liquid" file. Once you've located this file then feel free to give it a click so that the coding opens up on the right-hand side. 

When the coding appears, you'll want to press either Control+F if you're on a Windows device or Command+F on a Mac. In the box that appears, you'll want to type "Powered" which will pull you to the area that contains that specific word. In this example, Debut has two "powered_by_link" locations:

In this case, you'll want to go ahead and remove both pieces that appear. You'll specifically be removing {{ powered_by_link }} (brackets included) in each location. It should look like this: 

Once you've removed the two pieces of code you can hit save and that should give you the desired result!