Make some code act only on a specific collection of products and not on all products

Solved
Highlighted
4 0 0

Hi there, I'm a bit of a noob, but trying to make a edit to a piece of code that I got from a tutorial. The tutorial was to add a gift wrapping option on the cart page. I changed the code in order to make it into a personal message instead of gift wrapping (as all items come gift wrapped as standard).

This is the tutorial --> https://shopify.dev/tutorials/customize-theme-add-gift-wrap-option

However, using this code the gift wrapping product gets multiplied by the number of items in the basket, but I would like it to only multiply by the number of items from a specific collection. Is this possible? I think I need to edit something in the lines of code below, but don't know what goes in there to make it only one collection and not every item...

Here is my website URL: zwparcels.thecleankilo.co.uk

{% assign id = linklists.personalised-message.links.first.object.variants.first.id %}

{% assign personalised_message_in_cart = 0 %}
  {% for item in cart.items %}
    {% if item.id == id %}
      {% assign personalised_message_in_cart = item.quantity %}
    {% endif %}
  {% endfor %}
  {% assign items_in_cart = cart.item_count | minus: personalised_message_in_cart %}

Thanks very much in advance for your help!

Tom

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
11 3 2

This is an accepted solution.

Not an expert, but I would think you'd just need to find out if the product belonged to the right collection. You could add a loop to loop through the product's collections and an "if" statement to match the correct collection id, something like: 

{% for item in cart.items %}
    {% for collection in item.product.collections %}
      {% if collection.id == id %}
        {% assign personalised_message_in_cart = item.quantity %}
      {% endif %}
    {% endfor}%
{% endfor %}