Removing White Space

2 0 0

Hey folks! I'm looking to remove some white space in my Narrative Theme. Right now the Featured Collection has a large amount of white space above the Title. I would love to remove some of it so that it's not so big. Can anyone tell me where/ how to do that? I've tried to find the spot in the themescss but haven't had luck

If possible I would also like to expand the rows so that there is no margin on the sides of the site. Do you know this can be done?

Thank you!

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
335 31 79

Hi, Eavan!

This is May from Shopify.

I had the pleasure to visit your website, and I just have to say that your website is absolutely gorgeous! Great work on the images and color palette. While I am not an expert in coding, after inspecting your theme code, I was able to figure out one of your questions. Since you’re only interested in removing the space around ‘Featured Collection’ heading, you will want to edit your code in ‘featured collections’ liquid file, instead of ‘theme.scss.liquid’. The reason for this is that when I inspected the theme code, it looks like this heading does not have a unique class or ID. So, if you only edit ‘theme.scss.liquid’, your other <h2> headings on your website might also take effect on this code change.

From my experience, it looks like you are using Narrative theme by Shopify. That said, I will base my tutorial on the Narrative theme. It is important to note that different themes could have different file names and code structure. Before making any changes to your code, I highly recommend making a duplicate of your theme, to ensure that your customers aren’t affected by any unintended results. After you’ve done that, feel free to follow the steps below!

1. From your admin, go to ‘Online Store > Actions > Edit code’.

2. Open up ‘featured-collection.liquid’ file inside the ‘Sections’ folder.

3. Look for this line of code         

<h2>{{ section.settings.title }}</h2>