Review Stars in Google Search

Hi Guys,

 

I've been doing some research but without any luck. I want my reviews to show up in google search like here, this is an old shop of mine, where I've only used the Shopify Review app and nothing else.

Screenshot 2019-11-26 at 15.11.32.png

 

On my other store https://outdoorconcepts.co.nz/ this is not showing, however using Shopify Reviews App as well. How can I make sure this always pops up in Google search?

 

Thanks so much!

0 Likes

Hi @Infratech_Digit 

 

There is a problem with the "structured data" tags on your product pages.

Screenshot 2019-11-26 at 11.29.53.png

See more here:

https://search.google.com/structured-data/testing-tool/u/0/#url=https%3A%2F%2Foutdoorconcepts.co.nz%...

 

Screenshot 2019-11-26 at 11.33.58.png

The error that the test tool reports says that you are missing certain meta tags from your product pages.

 

This leads me to believe your review apps snippet is misconfigured. Or it has nothing with the app, but with the theme itself. I can't determine that from the outside.

 

If you want me to take a look at the theme files on the inside, approve the collaborator request I've sent you.

 

P.S. I wanted to compare your Lekker Project Yoga Mat listing with this one, but seem like that website is not available anymore.



Problem Solved? ✅ Accept the solution so you can help others.

Confused? Busy? ? Let me solve it for you: rumen@rumendimitrov.com

Buy me a coffee? ☕ paypal.me/braiv

Want to increase revenue? $ First find where your store is leaking money rumendimitrov.com/bfcm/
0 Likes

hi @rsdimitrov  Thanks for taking the time to reply! I've deleted some SEO and JSON apps and have downloaded another SJON app now.

 

I have also accepted your request, would be amazing if you could have a look!

 

(lekker project site is an old shop so not online anymore :)

0 Likes

Hey @Infratech_Digit 

 

Thanks for the approval of the request!

I took a look at your theme files and the code the Shopify Product Reviews app generates.

It's confirmed—their snippets are not enough for your star ratings to show up in Google's search results.

They may have worked before, but won't now.

I checked with a client of mine, who's website and products got thousands of reviews—they use the Judge.me Product reviews app.

 

Screenshot 2019-11-27 at 13.09.12.pngJudge.me app feature

As you can see from their Shopify App store page, they care greatly about providing the right rich snippets for all the platforms you need star ratings displayed on. The app also reminds people (over email) to leave a review. That would be beneficial in building the reputation of your store, too.

 

Try the app on its free plan—you've got nothing to lose :)

 

Hope this helps!

 

P.S. Have you checked your site for speed? I did, since it is one of google's ranking factors. You can see the results here: https://gtmetrix.com/reports/outdoorconcepts.co.nz/Z8idJw3Z. Deliberately checked from the closest possible server, as I assume your visitors would be in NZ. Do you plan to work on improving that?

 



Problem Solved? ✅ Accept the solution so you can help others.

Confused? Busy? ? Let me solve it for you: rumen@rumendimitrov.com

Buy me a coffee? ☕ paypal.me/braiv

Want to increase revenue? $ First find where your store is leaking money rumendimitrov.com/bfcm/
0 Likes

hi @rsdimitrov thanks so much for taking a look! How do you think it's possible that it showed on my old website? I barely had any apps installed except for the Shopify Review one :)

0 Likes

Well, I don't have the old site available to review and compare to pinpoint the exact differences.

 

I guess Google has changed their structured data properties (as they do quite often) and the Shopify Reviews App Team didn't catch up. What you are seeing from your old site's listing is actually a cached result that is soon to disappear.

 

hi @rsdimitrov thanks so much for taking a look!

I'm happy to help! Please mark the most helpful answer as a solution to your question so others can find this easier.

 



Problem Solved? ✅ Accept the solution so you can help others.

Confused? Busy? ? Let me solve it for you: rumen@rumendimitrov.com

Buy me a coffee? ☕ paypal.me/braiv

Want to increase revenue? $ First find where your store is leaking money rumendimitrov.com/bfcm/
0 Likes

Hi @rsdimitrov it is actually working now! not sure how but that's great!

0 Likes

Hooray! Is there anything else I can help you with?



Problem Solved? ✅ Accept the solution so you can help others.

Confused? Busy? ? Let me solve it for you: rumen@rumendimitrov.com

Buy me a coffee? ☕ paypal.me/braiv

Want to increase revenue? $ First find where your store is leaking money rumendimitrov.com/bfcm/
0 Likes
New Member
4 0 0

How many reviews are needed for an item's review score to appear in the Rich Snippet section of a Google search?

0 Likes