Sections & Blocks per page

Shopify Expert
60 0 25

Hi all,

I'm playing with the new Sections & Blocks feature in Shopify theme dev. Anybody know if there is support, or a trick, for applying sections to more than just the home page? The "{{content_for_index}}" renders the specified sections on the home page but what if I wanted a different set of sections on a different page? 

And bonus question: With this method, could the settings for, as an example, a map be different on the home page versus a different map section on a different page?

HUGE potential for this feature but curious if it can be implemented to match my mad scientist plans.... 

5 Likes
Shopify Partner
21 0 2

Hey Jonathan, I'm right there with you on this! I'm very new to Shopify, and especially new to this Sections feature that just came out. I just managed to place some sections in a unique custom page template using sections tags, like these:

{% section 'feature-columns' %}
{% section 'slideshow' %}

They look great and can be edited by navigating in the new UI to my custom page. I have two issues that I can't figure out, however: 

1. I can't drag/drop the sections like I can the homepage (I understand why, because the tags are statically placed in the template, I just don't know how to generate "{{content_for_index}}" type of behavior on a custom page template.)
  2. It looks like you can only have one instance of a given section on a page. For instance, I tried to place two {% section 'feature-row' %} tags in the template, and they just mirrored each other as I edited one or the other. Only work-around I got to work is duplicating a section template, like feature-row.liquid and naming it something like feature-row-2.liquid. Doing that allowed them to have unique content. 

Aside from my experimenting, regarding "content_for_index", I found the info quoted below on the new documentation: