Transparent Product Varient Image Overlay on Product Page

6 0 0

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this platform and coding in general. I am working with the Launchpad-Star Theme and Boundless theme (site curently under construction).

Is there a script or process to follow where I can overlay a transparent image (.png) over a base product image? This is particularly to show different accessory options for an existing product.

For example:

Variant 1:

Base product with 3 Color variants

Rendered images of each color variants are uploaded.

Variant 2 (Multiple versions of a single accessories):

.png overlay over Variant 1's product image based on what option is selected.

Basically I want a builder/customizer or color swatch of sorts.

If I am able to do this on this platform, it would save me from uploaded hundreds (and I mean hundreds) of images for each variant.

If you need clarifaction please let me know! If there is a theme that already supports this please let me know!

Thanks,

Mike

0 Likes
Shopify Partner
1346 22 208

Hi Mike,

As far as I know there is no out of the box theme with this functionality. You can custom code something like this. Here is a basic demo: https://custom-skin.myshopify.com/products/iphone-6-skin.

The code is complex but I will try to give a resume.

You will need high rez images with your product. A main template and transparent pngs. It usually works best with rendered products.

You can upload your additional transparent images as product images or assigned to variants. Using JavaScript you can loop trough your product images and make a match. The match can be done using the image assigned tags or image URL. It depends.

The png can be placed as an absolute layer on top of your template. You can use cart line items or variants to send the customization to the cart