What Icon Set does Shopify Debut Theme use?

Shopify Expert
26 0 14

Does anyone know what Icon Set/Generator Shopfiy Debut uses? Where/How is it generating the path id?

I'm building a new store using the Debut theme. Only issue I am running into is that I need to add a few new icons. Instead of replacing all icons with a new pacakge like Themify or Font Awesome, I'd like to use the same icons Debut is using.

Thanks!

0 Likes
Shopify Partner
44 0 12

Hey, I was a developer on Debut so can point you in the right direction. We didn't use a package but rather designed a lot of the icons ourselves. They're SVG files that are included as snippets, and it's fairly straight forward for adding more.

1. First, create your icon and save it as an SVG file. Illustrator or Sketch are great for this. You can also export icons from IcoMoon in SVG format.
  2. Open the SVG file in a code editor (you can do this step last in the Shopify code editor if you'd prefer) and add class="icon" to the SVG tag. Take a look at one of the icon snippets in Debut if you're unsure of how it should look.
    • This icon class makes it so the theme can overwrite the SVGs colors, along with some other basic formatting
  3. Change the file extension from .svg to .liquid and place it in your theme's snippet folder. I prefer to prefix the filename with icon- as well for organizational purposes.
  4. Use your new icon with {% include 'icon-cart' %}, where icon-cart is your filename

0 Likes
Shopify Expert
26 0 14

Thanks Carson. It would be very difficult to dupliate the exact style of the existing icons if I was hand creating all new ones. Is there any template that was used on the existing icons?

Sounds like it will be much more scalable to just switch to a icon library for me. 

I appreciate your response.

JR

0 Likes
Shopify Partner
44 0 12