Workflow for making changes to a live site

Highlighted
Excursionist
13 0 3

I am new to Shopify and need to make changes to a live site. Is this a good workflow for making small changes to a live site?

Duplicate the theme;

Edit the code and save changes;

Test the changes through the preview option;

Publish the theme.

Is there anything important I need to look out for if I follow this method?

If someone is making changes to the site while I am working e.g. adding new products or a customer is adding an account etc. Does the duplicate theme pick up the changes?

Thanks for any suggestions

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
642 21 220

Hey, Alan!

Aria here, one of the Social Care gurus at Shopify. ?

That's exactly right! Duplicate your current live theme, give it a very clear name to avoid confusion for you and other staff members, make changes to the duplicated copy, test them in preview and publish when you're confident you made the right changes. None of this will affect the current, published theme. 

Your duplicate theme will pick up any changes made to the store. If someone adds a new product, you'll be able to access it from the duplicate theme. 

Let me know if you have more questions about this. 

Aria
Social Care Guru
Shopify

Aria | Social Care @ Shopify
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

2 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
13 0 3

Aria, thanks for the reply.

What about making changes to navigation or pages etc, like adding a new menu item? For me this seems to appear in the live version. Is it only changes to the theme code that don't show?

I added a new menu item and then realised it was appearing in the live site, I deleted it and it no longer shows when I am logged into Shopify and viewing the site, but when I log out and view the site the deleted menu item is still showing.