how to modify shopify simple theme code

5 0 0

I am trying to understand the logic flow of shopify themes.  I am using the shopify free them 'simple'.  I am a programmer and hav knowledge of html, javascript, css, etc and a basic understanding of the liquify language
What i am try to accomplish is modify the main page of the thems that displays product collections.  The default is 3 on the first row and 4 collections on the 2nd row.
I want to change to display only 1 or 2 collections on the main page.
I think i have figured out the home page is basically the theme.liquid is the home page.  There is a section within theme.liquid with the code {{ content_for_layout }}
I assume that is what generates the section that displays the collections.
Finally, my question.  Where do i go to edit the code contained in {{ content_for_layout }}?
I know i can do it using the control panel, but i need to find where to modify the actual code.

0 Likes
4 0 0

Before you start editing your code, try this first to see if this change will work for what you want, as it might be much simipler.  I am not running the simple theme, but I'm guessing your's will be very similiar to this.

Click the Online store link (Step 1).  Once that loads, click the Customize button (Step 2).

0 Likes
4 0 0

Next make sure you are on your home page (Step 3).  Then click the name of the catrgory you want to make changes to (Step 4), in my image the category is titled "New Products."

0 Likes
4 0 0

This will open something like the image below.  Change how many products you want in your row, and how many rows you want in each product category.  This might be the fastest and easiest fix to what it sounds like you're looking to accomplish.

0 Likes
5 0 0

<font color="#000000" face="Calibri" size="3">Mike,
  Thank you for the feedback.</font>

<font color="#000000" face="Calibri" size="3">The process you suggested does in fact allow me to modify the section to change the rows and items per row.